UPS

I have worked at UPS twice in my life. Once while in seminary and once while planting a church. The Lord gave me a word picture while I was working one morning. He used the packages I used to pick up as an On Call Air driver and the packages I loaded in the big brown trucks to bring home a valuable lesson of His love and care.

The first time I worked for UPS was in the late 80’s when my wife and I lived in New Orleans. I was 24 years old. I was there working on my Masters degree at the Baptist seminary. It was an excellent job for a seminary student who needed a good part-time salary and great benefits.

The second time I worked for UPS, they hired me during peak season, and a couple of weeks after peak season they brought me back to work loading a couple of their brown trucks each morning. I was 37 years old at the time.

When I was in New Orleans I picked up Next Day and Second day Air packages. They called me OC8. The job was a delight and easy. The packages were light. One day I asked God, “Why did I drive and pick up light packages at age 24, and I loaded heavy packages at age 37?” He let me know I needed the exercise and that I had become soft after I stopped doing youth ministry.

I can remember while loading all those packages that when we have a package that was over seventy pounds coming down the belt, the person up at the front of the belt would hollers at us, “Over Seventy!!!” I often wonder what the senior adults thought when they walked in to pick up their packages and heard someone shout out, “Over seventy!” One morning as I was thinking about heavy packages, I thought about the burdens this life brings our way. You can be sure heavy burdens will come down the belt of your life sooner or later. The question is how will you handle those burdens?

Very few times does God let us know that they are coming. God may not let us know about it, but He is always willing to be with us and carry it. At UPS we handle our own over seventy packages, and in life you have that option also. I see some people carrying their burdens, some dragging them, and some doing both. Many people are struggling through life when Jesus is saying, “Why don’t you hand that package to Me?” The Bible says, “Cast your burden upon the LORD, and He will sustain you; He will never allow the righteous to be shaken” (Psalm 55:22). So what are you carrying today? Why not cast that burden on the Lord because He cares for you! (1 Peter 5:7).

One thought on “UPS

  1. Amy Cox says:

    WOW – that was awesome!!!!! Thanks for the reminder to cast those burdens to the Lord!

Leave a Reply

