Mom

What comes to your mind when you think of your mom? I want to share with you some of my favorite memories of my mom, not only because Mother’s Day is approaching but because there is no one like Mom and she needs to know.

This past week my mom was able to come down to Florida and visit us and even though she is getting to the age where she rather just sit and hang out, we were able to go out to eat, go shopping, and even take a boat ride around the lake. The hanging out part brought about a lot of old stories and memories from days gone by, and gave me an opportunity to reflect on the good memories of mom through the years.

Taking Mom and Jack on a boat ride around the lake. May 2012.

One of the things I remember about my mom, and being a single parent, is that she was a worker. She worked at grocery stores like Big Star, Pantry Pride, Harvey’s, and Piggly Wiggly. Not only did she work outside the home, she worked at home. She would always make sure my brother Allen and I had some Manwich in the refrigerator to warm up for meals, or some frozen chicken pot pies or pizzas to cook while she was at work. My kids still joke about when they were little and my wife would go out of town, that it meant frozen pizza or Chicken Pot Pies for dinner. Hey, it’s what I grew up on. I joke about introducing my wife to Nestle’s Quik chocolate milk, and she introduced me to things like broccoli, and cauliflower.

The other thing I remember about mom is that she made sure we got to where we needed to go. School was a given but she hauled us around in that Plymouth Fury III during the late 70’s and early 80’s to midget football practice, softball games, and to the Tallulah Massey Pool. I recall wanting to go to the pool, which was all the way cross town but close to the grocery store where my mom worked. My mom started work before the pool opened but made sure I got there. She got to work, sent me across the parking lot to McDonald’s for breakfast, and let me sit in the car and listen to the radio until the pool opened. I had to walk a block to the pool but mom made it happen.

My mom, my sister Debbie, my brother Allen, and I on top of Stone Mountain during the 70’s.

One of my favorite memories about my mom and my Aunt Verdie is that they made sure we got to go on some type of vacation. Often times it was a trip to the beach or to Six Flags and Stone Mountain. As a kid I did not realize the effort they had to put into these trips to make them happen but these two ladies made it happen. They were willing to take off with a bunch of kids to make sure we had a good summer.

My mom gets a lot of praise for her good cooking. Layered chocolate cakes, Red Velvet cakes, and great southern cooking are a breeze for her to pull off with success but what I admire most is her just being herself… self-sacrificing, loving, and very seldom thinking of herself.

I don’t know what you think of when you think of your mom, but I hope, if you are able to, you tell her how special she is to you because there is no one like Mom.

One thought on “Mom

  1. delancydina says:

    Your Mom is AWESOME! Thanks for sharing your special memories of her. I loved the old photos!! =)

Leave a Reply

